New to it All: the Yamas of Yoga pt. 3 

Hi everyone! I’m glad you’re back!
 
Today I’ll talk a little bit about the third Yama, which is Asteya: Non-Stealing. But first a look back at what we’ve already learnt!
 
Review:
The Yamas are 5 basic ethical principles to live by. Things we can do everyday to improve our happiness and the happiness of the people around us.
-The first principle, Ahimsa, is Non-Violence. It means more than just not being cruel to those around us. It means we should always be considerate of those around us. Those around us and actually every little thing on this earth including ourselves!
-The second principle, Satya, is Truthfulness. Speak your truth with good intentions. Be honest with yourself about how you feel, you are allowed to feel however it is that you do. When we are first honest with ourselves it becomes easier to speak our truth to the world.
 
Now a little bit about the third principle Asteya: Non-Stealing.
 
Asteya
seems simple right? Don’t break into someone’s home and steal his or her possessions. Done. Oh but wait there’s more!


Asteya
holds the belief that not listening to someone as they confide in you is theft; you are stealing their time.

Making someone run around after you is theft; you are stealing their energy.

Butting in when someone else receives praise for a job well done is theft; you are stealing their moment.

There are so many ways that we steal from each other everyday that I had personally never thought about before. The one that struck me in a particularly sensitive spot was stealing moments. I find that when others are complimented for something I can do just as well I become jealous. This happens often and I despise it. Over my time at Marina Yoga I believe I discovered why this happens to me. It starts with me needing some sort of validation from others, that’s obvious. But why? Because I never ever gave myself the validation that I needed. I have never once accomplished something and honestly told myself that I did a good job, or that I am proud of myself. I just move on and hope that maybe someone else will tell me I’ve done well. 

What I was doing all this time was actually stealing from myself! By just brushing things off and never appreciating myself and my hard work I stole my own ability to feel accomplished and proud. Since I’ve come to this realization I’ve been making a conscious effort to acknowledge my accomplishments on a daily basis. I’ve been allowing myself to feel proud of myself about the little things and I’ll tell you it feels great!
 Some ways to practice Asteya on a daily basis are just as I mentioned above. Tell yourself that you’ve done well, don’t wait for someone else to notice. Allow yourself to be proud! And when it comes to not stealing from others, think more about how you can give back, instead of how you can profit the most. Selflessness and key.

Next stop principle 4…until then I wish you all a fantastic day full of true love and kindness!

Namaste, Katy.
 
 

